Tellus logos
Tellus logos

The international scientific journal Tellus was created in 1949 by the Swedish Geophysical Society after an initiative by Prof. Carl-Gustaf Rossby. In 1983 the journal was divided into two parts:

Tellus A – Dynamical Meteorology and Oceanography, and

Tellus B – Chemical and Physical Meteorology.

The International Meteorological Institute in Stockholm (IMI) took over the ownership of the journal in 2009.The editorial office of the journal has remained located at the Department of Meteorology at Stockholm University (MISU).

Tellus is published as open access by Taylor & Francis ( The open-access concept implies that all accepted papers will be available within a few weeks on the web, free of charge. There will not be any regular, printed paper issues nor any subscriptions.

The current staffing of the editorial office is:

Tellus A:

  • Editor-in-Chief Prof. Erland Källen,
  • Subject editors Prof. Fabien Roquet (U Gothenburg, oceanography), Assoc. Prof. Abdel Hannachi (MISU, dynamic meteorology) and Assoc. Prof Nils Gustafsson (Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute, data assimilation).

Tellus B:

  • Editor-in-Chief Prof. Hans-Christen Hansson (ACES, Stockholm University),
  • Subject editors Prof. Annica Ekman (MISU, chemical meteorology), Prof. Anders Lindroth (Dept of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University), docent Qiong Zhang (Dep of Physical Geography, Stockholm University) and Prof. Kaarle Hämeri (Helsinki University, aerosols).

For further information about the two series of Tellus please visit: