Tellus logos
Tellus logos

The international scientific journal Tellus was created in 1949 by the Swedish Geophysical Society after an initiative by Prof. Carl-Gustaf Rossby. In 1983 the journal was divided into two parts: Tellus A – Dynamical Meteorology and Oceanography, and Tellus B – Chemical and Physical Meteorology. The International Meteorological Institute in Stockholm (IMI) took over the ownership of the journal in 2009.The editorial office of the journal has remained located at the Department of Meteorology at Stockholm University (MISU).

Since 1 January 2012, Tellus is published as open access by Co-Action Publishing ( The open-access concept implies that all accepted papers will be available within a few weeks on the web, free of charge. There will not be any regular, printed paper issues nor any subscriptions. The possibility of printing hard copies will still remain, e.g. for special issues. The Open Journal Systems, OJS, is used for manuscript handling.

The current staffing of the editorial office is:

  • Tellus A: Editor-in-Chief Prof. Peter Lundberg, subject editors Prof. Johan Nilsson (MISU, oceanography), Assoc. Prof. Abdel Hannachi (MISU, dynamic meteorology) and Assoc. Prof Nils Gustafsson (Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute, data assimilation).
  • Tellus B: Editor-in-Chief Prof. Hans-Christen Hansson (ACES, Stockholm University), subject editors Prof. Annica Ekman (MISU, chemical meteorology), Prof. Anders Lindroth Professor (Dept of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University), docent Qiong Zhang (Dep of Physical Geography, Stockholm University) and Prof. Kaarle Hämeri (Helsinki University, aerosols).


For further information about the two series of Tellus please visit: